• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Aurora 3/16, 3/17

Did anybody get out and capture pictures of the northern lights on Monday and Tuesday night of this week? It's not very often that we get two strong storms like that on back to back nights. It provided people with ample photo opportunities across not only MN but all over the midwest.

I'm extremely new to photography but I did manage to get out on St Patty's day and it was my first time shooting exposure pictures. I was pretty happy with the way they turned out. I'd love to get some constructive criticism since I am so new to this. I was going back and forth between 25 and 30 second exposures which I now think were a little too long (the stars got streaky and I wish they were more clear). I was also flipping between ISO of 800 and 1600 (1600 is max on my camera). Aperture was 4.5 if I remember correctly and I did not switch that at all. Here are a couple of my favorites from that night.

full-27725-54080-crw_1067.jpg

full-27725-54081-crw_1075.jpg

full-27725-54082-crw_1077.jpg

full-27725-54083-crw_1082.jpg

full-27725-54084-crw_1088.jpg

Well I think you did well for your first time with aurora photography! I am guessing you were not using a DSLR, I couldn't pull any EXIF data from the shots but based on your highest ISO capability I made that assumption.

You do have some noticeable noise in these, especially the first shot. Did you post process these at all or are they right out of the camera? Easier to help you with that once I know. I do see some star movement as well, the longer shutter speed causes that. You may not have had much choice based on your equipment.