• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

nils auger

jackoh58

Question

I have an eight inch nils master auger. It cut great at first. After using it a while and being only 5'6" tall I find myself whanting to cut it down about 12" shorter. This thing cost about twice that of a strike master and I am not sure it works as good. Anybody else have similar problem?
Thanks

4 answers to this question

jackoh58.. TAKE IT BACK!! A friend of mine bought one at the ice fishing show in Dec. He really thought the Nils auger was the cats meow. Not so, he took it back to Thorne Brothers 2 days later. I believe they don't carry hem there any more.To much bad feed back.

Here are my concerns.
1) auger is way to tall.
2) you can't get the blades sharpened.
3) the auger catches when you break through the ice.
4) very expensive.

I assume you were talking about the power auger and not the hand auger. I also have a friend who has a hand Nils aguer and hates it.
Go with a Strike Master or a Jiffy!

peace,
sj

I've used the Nils for 15 - 20 holes so far and I still haven't got the two handed method down. My holes are not straight, actually they zig zag. I think the more I use it, the more I'll be proficient with it.

I'm guessing that the reason people complain about its height are the ones that are used to putting heavy pressure on top of a auger to get it go down. Let the auger do the work, my 8" is 10lbs., all I do is turn the thing without any downward pressure. So far, so good, I have no complaints using the Nils. Would I have been just as happy if I went with a Lazer? Yea, probably, but sometimes you gotta give new ideas and items a chance and not always follow the crowd.