• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Camera Suggestions for product photography

I thought I'd pose this question to the resident experts. I'm a graphic designer that has had to take on a lot of product photography as part of my current job. I didn't have a lot of experience with it when I started so it has been a learning curve.

I am currently shooting with an old Canon Rebel EOS 300D. Not sure how old it is but its been around awhile.

There are a few things starting to not work so great and I know cameras have probably come along way since this one came out. I got the ok to purchase a new camera if I'd like so I am wondering if people can offer some suggestions as to what camera would be best and if there are any lenses that I should also consider looking at.

Cost isn't a huge issue. The company is usually willing to pay for quality and since product photography is so important to our marketing pieces that I create its worth spending to get the right tools.

Just a few details. I shoot almost exclusively on a white background in a white photo cube with white background paper. I have 4 photo quality cfl lights that I use (heat was an issue with my old Omni tungsten lights). A lot of the product I shoot is highly reflective and its virtually all metal so even a matte finish still has some reflection.

Let me know if there is any other info you need to provide a better answer. Thanks for the help.

Sounds to me like you have the hardest part of the job down, the lighting. The one question I will ask is what lens are you shooting with?