• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Motion Decoys for Geese

I have been hunting ducks and geese for over 20 years in Minnesota and still don't have them completely figured out yet. My question is about mojo decoys. I do use them for ducks and I think that they help a lot. As far as geese are concerned I have not started using them because I was always under the impression that geese don't like landing over each like ducks do. I have hunted out on private land at Lac Qui Parle and some guys use the robo geese with success. I am thinking about getting the wing waver and then stop waving once they have seen the decoy spread. I know that ducks in the fields nearly knock that mojo off the post but geese fly right by. I know that a lot of people use flagging for geese but do you stop flagging after they have seen the spread? Geese seem to be very spooky and something very little will make them change their minds about landing in the decoys.

[This message has been edited by duckbill (edited 08-26-2004).]

duckbill,

This is one man's opinion, (an old man at that). Not bragging here, but just so you know that I have the experience, I am pushing 50, and I have hunted geese all over North America, including 2 Canadian providences, and it has been my experience that "Mojo" is "Voodoo" on honkers. If we are hunting a field or pothole that both ducks and geese are using, and we hear or see incoming honkers, we shut the Mojo OFF!!!
That being said, let's move on to flagging. I NEVER hunt honkers without a flag. From a distance, it looks honest-to-gosh REAL!!!! (Go walk a couple hundred yares away from a decoy spread, and have your buddies drop that flag into the spread, if you doubt me). But there is a HUGE difference between a flag and a constant running Mojo!!!!