• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

This weekend hunting

As some of you already may know I am very new to this whole coyote hunting thing but having been skunked twice I'm thinking my third time out will be the charm. If it's not thats ok I'll keep showing up. I will have some time to hunt this weekend and I'll be hunting some private land that I deer hunt on where I have seen sign and coyotes this fall. I do not have the fancy equipment yet however I have a couple of mouth calls and my shotgun (00 buck). I would love to buy a 243 with a great scope however thats not realistic for me this year. My question is will there be enough moonlight for me this weekend? Also in he MN regs it has that with shotgun you can use artificial light. What does that mean? In my head I'm thinking how do I hold my bmillion candle power spotlight and shoot? Wouldn't the coyote absolutly bolt when you turned the light on? Is there a special light that coyote hunters use with shotgun hunting? Sorry for the stupid questions but at this point thats where I'm at. Enthusiastic, optimistic but stupid. Thanks for any tips in advance (still love sitting out there at night).

Lots of info on the web just do some searching. A red light is what you will want to use. Check out elusive wildlife technology lights. Spendy but well worth it. Can be used on your head to scan and shoot a shotgun. Doubt there will be enough moonlight this weekend. Maybe at shotgun range but will be tough to see them coming.