• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

steel vs wood studs in a wheel house

molonlabe18

I have been looing at building a wheel house starting this spring. And I was wondering what everyones thoughts and opinions are steel stud walls vs wood stud walls for a wheel house. I have went through a couple of fish house builds on here and seen both done. What are the advantages and disadvantages to each one and what is the best to go with?This is my first build and I am looking for as much info as I can get before jumping into this project.

I just about have mine done,I went with 2x3 wood studs for the walls a ceiling,haveing to do it over again I would have went with steel,having to dig through and find straight lumber and Menards is next to impossible!

When I picked up my Alum.I picked up some VHB tape like others have suggested,but since I had wood studs I had to put Alum.strips over the studs,but.....It's holding like a rock!spend the extra $$ on the tape.

I'm sure LRG will post since he has built a couple of them.

I own more welders than nail guns Boar so I say weld it up. grin

The R-value is lower with steel but you can also fir them out to prevent condensation.

I'm going steel next time for strength. Be careful using steel with aluminium sheeting. Electrolysis & such.

You've probably seen my build on here with the steel studs (1"x2"x18gauge). My 2010 build was with 2x2 wood studs, if you haven't seen that one. This (long-winded) post is regarding building with 1x2 tube steel, NOT light gauge steel framing from home improvement stores.