• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Leaving the heat on....

merkman

So this is my first time trying it out for an extended period...

Anyone here have a vented propane furnace in a spear shack and leave the heat on low when you are not there?

Does it work to keep the hole open?

Any worries about muskrats or other critters?

I am thinking making a mesh hole cover I can fasten down when I am not there to keep the muskrats from bringing a bunch of stuff inside the shack. (and possibly starting it on fire) but still allowing away for the heat to warm the hole.

Muskrats are not a problem in the location I am set up on now, but the location I am goging to move to will have many many muskrats.

4X5 shack with a 44" X 24" hole.

aprox 6' tall

1.5" bead board insulation on walls and ceiling.

2x2 floor with pink insulatation in the cavities.

Tin all the way around.

I have a 12,000 BTU direct vent heater from a popup camper in there.

Some have told me I need to watch out or it wil melt the ice around the hole and the shack might fall in, but I am not so sure about that... ?

Thanks

Merk

I have a 7 x 10, well insulated house. The spear hole is about 6 foot by 22 inches.

I have a couple of wall mounted gas lights, along with a wall mounted propane heater.

I used to leave my heater on low, and that would keep the hole open, but not melt the banking too bad. It did, however, use propane at a pretty good clip.

I added a couple of computer fans near the ceiling, and angled them towards the floor. Now I just leave one of the gas lights on, or both if its really cold and leave the fans on. I'll have some skim ice on the hole if its -10 or below. Above that, the hole stays open as long as my banking is good.