• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Hey / question about recuves

Lentz

Hey well I'm new to this form and I didant see a welcome spot to post why I joined this site I am a avid bow hunter I also deer hunt but now hunting is where my pride lies

I have a 48# recurve at a 28 inch draw and have 2117 aluminum arrows with a 4 inch feather vain and I'm wondering if this is a good arrow and what weight field point 100 or 125

Not planing on hunting with this this fall unless I can get 6 for six in a paper plate at 20 yards have been shooting a little and can do this at 10 and almost 15

I shoot 125gr with my recurve. If you have actual feathers on the arrows, then 4" is probably ok, I shoot 5" feathers. If you are shooting plastic vanes then all bets are off, in my experience they do not shoot as well off of the shelf of the bow because they cause the arrow to spring off a bit and fly wobbly.

According to the Easton arrow chart, those shafts might work.

http://www.eastonarchery.com/uploads/files/51_hunt-sel-chart.pdf

The trick will be to figure out what your real draw length is. The weight written on the bow is measured at 28". If you draw 27", the weight will be less. at 29" it might be a little more.

According to the chart I linked above, the 2117 shaft is in group H.

With 100gr heads your 2117 shaft needs to be about 30" long to shoot out of a 48# recurve.

With 125gr heads your 2117 shaft can be a little shorter at 29", 30" is also ok because the 48# weight is on the edge in the chart.

If you are pulling the bow shorter, like 27", and the weight is in the mid-40# range then you need the arrows to be a bit longer. If you draw long at about 29" and maybe get 50# out of the bow then then 29" shaft will work better.

hope that makes sense...