• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

"Food plots" for ducks???

I have several acres of wetlands on my property and like much many of the sloughs I know of, they are past their prime and have never had the chance to regenerate. Just cattails, some duckweed and open water. There are minnows as well. The feed is just not there anymore.

My question is, has anyone experimented with any of this duck food/seed that Mossy oak has or bio logic has? Or anything else? I know it would be great to get a bunch of wildrice or sago pondweed established... but what are other options for getting some food back in a pond? Whats the best way to plant it?

Thanks for any suggestions/comments!

Best thing you could do would be to eradicate the minnows and transplant in some freshwater shrimp. I have no experience with duck "food plots," but that sounds like quite a gimmick to me...

Im affraid the minnows are there to stay because of inlets and outlets. I guess its not so much a food plot, just "seed" to improve the vegetation that is beneficial to waterfowl.

I just thought of something: you'd probably have to clear it with DNR before being allowed to plant vegetation in a waterway. With all the hubbub over ANS these days, I could see them come down on you like a whirlwind if there were anything in the seed blend that wasn't native or could get out of hand. Just a thought.

I am so glad to see a post like this. We have been working with "waterfowl food plots" for several years and it has been really hard to get people to think about it. People put a lot of time and cost into deer plots and pheasant plots...but rarely anything goes into duck food plots.