• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Sweet corn

bopper4

Have you tried the augmented SH2 varieties?

The best I have eaten is Gourmet Sweets,especially 277A.My family asks for it.You can find them at Stokes,Jungs,and Johnnys.Also 274A and Vision.

The Mirai's are really good also.Available at Jungs and Harris.

I have been growing "gotta have it" from Guerney's for about four years now. I have been very happy with yield, sweetness, and most all the ability to keep on the stalk and in the fridge although mine usually gets eaten or frozen immediately. The price has just gotten out of hand though.

Normally I'm a 100% heirloom type of guy and I'd tell you to go after and grow a "Country Gentleman" or a "Buhl" sweet corn...

Last year I went to a small Hobby Farm "Cornfest" where they were serving "Bodacious." (Which is a hybrid)

And I have to say, I would step over my own grandmother's grave to get myself another dozen fresh picked ears!

I think I found it on Johnny's would it be the extra tender 277a (f1) (sh2). Zalso what are the benefits of treated vs untreated?

Yes.....277A is the best one I have ever grown out of probably 35 varieties over the past 30 years.Another benefit of that one is that most stalks have 2 ears.The second one a little smaller than the first.You will love it.Tender,very sweet and strong corn taste.

This year I am growing Vision....an early augmented SH2,277A for mid-season and,How Sweet It Is,which is an 87 day white corn.Also having 2 ears per.

If you decide to grow a SH2 you want treated seed.It usually has Captan which is a fungiside to prevent the seed from getting moldy and rotting before it germinates.