• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

water in trolling motor

chuckwagon

I tore apart my minn kota bow mount last night and found a burnt up melted wire running through the shaft ... the motor quit on me while fishing so I ripped er down. While taking apart the lower unit, I pulled the long bolts out that holds everything from behind the prop to the nose cone together. When I pulled the first one, water poured out the hole (enough to fill the entire lower unit). My question is ... this area should be sealed correct? there should not be any water getting in there? I am guessing a seal or o ring is gone or in really bad condition. I am new to trolling motors so any imput would be very helpful. Thank you in advance.

Thanks truth .... I re wired the motor and it actually still works. Just have track down a seal or o ring .... Would marine cylicone work fine too? Or that rbk gasket maker work? Not sure of the name of it

I would get the proper o-ring or seal rather than 1/2 butt a quick a fix. It's cheap but you might be out of commission for couple days tracking one down.