• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

targeting big Walleyes

heaterht

I am relatively new to the world of walleye fishing being from central Missouri. I will be going on my second trip to Canada this year and want to try to target bigger fish. The trip is from june 5 thru 12 to Red Lake Ontario about 250 miles north of US border. Last year we were successful in catching alot of 17" to 20" fish in shallow(around 10')water on Lindy Rigs. We did catch a few larger fish but I think we could be more successful if we knew where and how to target big fish. Anyone w/ knowledge of different techniches please let me know.
I have recently heard of open water trolling for big fish this time of year and was wanting to get some specifics on things such as what depth to concentrate on, what depth the fish will be suspending at, what to look for on sonar, and rigging tips for crankbaits and planer boards.
Thanks
Dan

Take a look at the Largest Walleye of the Season thread, in the walleye section below this thread.

Canitbeluck has some good info to look into there!

------------------
1...2...bam got him

I don't want to sound discouraging, but the early June timeframe you have for your trip is an "in-between time" that far north. There will always fish on the shorelines and points, but by that time of year they will also be moving to deepwater structure (reefs and mud). The result can be scattered fish, especially if it's a late (ie. cold) spring. The bigger fish will be the first to leave the shallower spawning areas and shorelines and move to the reefs, but they're not always biting right away when they get to the reefs.