• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Advice for a newbie to canoeing

So i recently purchased a old town 15"8 discovery canoe. I am new to canoeing and have some questions? What would be better to go with wood paddles or plastic? Would a straight edge or beaver style paddle be better for a newcomer? Do the plastic/synthetic ones float? For transporting i am thinking of getting the foam blocks for my 2 door car any advice on these would be great? I bought it to primarily fish with, do you think a canoe stabilizer is necessary? Any advice for a newbie would be much appreciated

So i recently purchased a old town 15"8 discovery canoe.

Nice canoe

I am new to canoeing and have some questions? What would be better to go with wood paddles or plastic?

Wood

Would a straight edge or beaver style paddle be better for a newcomer?

Probably straight

Do the plastic/synthetic ones float?

Yes

For transporting i am thinking of getting the foam blocks for my 2 door car any advice on these would be great?

Will work, but a rack (yakima or thule) would be better

I bought it to primarily fish with, do you think a canoe stabilizer is necessary?

No, it'll just take a little bit of time getting used to it. Even at the beginning of every year I feel all tipsy for a little while, then it gets better quickly. Paddle around on your knees if you feel too tipsy at first. Then work your way up to the seat as you get more comfortable (will be within a few minutes). Stay low in the boat. Never stand up. Might be a good idea to take it out without any gear at first. Wear a lifejacket if the water is cold when you're getting accustomed to your new boat.

Any advice for a newbie would be much appreciated