• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Prints do not look like the image on the monitor

Cicada, if you want a print that more perfectly matches what's on your monitor, the first step is to buy monitor color calibration software.

Even though I'm a photographer, I've never gone that route. My prints are very close to what I see on my monitor, and it's pretty simple for me to tone the photograph in Photoshop to look just a small amount wrong in just the right way that the print comes out right.

If the monitor and print differ significantly, the calibration software may be the route you need to take. Back before I was using LCD monitors, I'd make a print and then hold it up next to the picture on the screen and use the screen adjustment dials to more closely match them.

With the LCDs I'm running now, print and monitor pics are so close together I can't really tell the diff. All of my commercial printing is done via electronic order through White House Custom Color in St. Paul, and for $1 extra per file (not per print), they'll do the color correction.

Probably Dbl, finnbay and a couple others who more carefully calibrate their monitors can help you through it.

So...are you saying that it is the monitor that needs adjustment? I like the way the photographs look right from my camera on the monitor. The print color seems ok, just that they are quite a bit darker once printed. The only exception is that I have a photograph of a purple orchid looking flower that will print blue.