• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Kayak advice for a beginner anyone?

Alright, I don't have a boat, nor can I afford one. I'm a college student and drive a grand prix for a car. I am getting a bit sick of shore fishing the same spots night after night, so I have decided that maybe I ought to invest in a fishing kayak. My problem is that I don't know what to look for. I am just fine with buying something used, so long as it's still in good condition. I would like to get some opinions and advice on what a new person to the kayaking world ought to look for when thinking about purchase.

I am 6'1 and 230lbs, so I know the weight limit I will have to watch for so that I can still bring some gear with me. I also didn't see any classified ad's for kayaks for sale, so does anyone know any other site that would be a good place to start? I am going to look on hsolist tonight just to see what's out there. Thanks in advance for the help.

I don't have a kayak as of yet (its in the near future plans) but I've been researching a lot on the subject for the past few months. I want to make sure I make the most educated purchase I can. From what I gather (although some is personal preference) the following are a few options that need addressed.

Where do you fish/plan on fishing (calm rivers/lakes any rapids etc)

Will you only fish sitting or do you want to sight fish as well?

Do you want a dedicated fishing kayak or something more multipurpose?

There are a few different types of boat; whitewater, fishing, touring, Hybrid, and general recreational.

Whitewater - Short, sit in, no frills, initial stability low/final stability high - not great for fishing.

Touring - Long, sit in or sit on tops, narrow to run fast and have good glide. - not really the best for fishing, but could be manageable (I'd suggest against it though)