• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Bow fishing start up.

Hey everyone this is my first time actually in the bow fishing room. Im interested in getting into this sport and wonder what all I would need to purchase. I have an older bow I could mount stuff on, also i have seen at scheels like a kit that comes with a reel and a arrow and stuff just wondering what all Ill exactly need and a rough estamate how much $$ where talking to get set up with basic gear for just day time shooting.

Also Im not sure, but seems to me i remeber hearing people say to aim like 2" below the fish or something like that is that true?

Thanks in advance

the best thing i can recommend is try to meet somebody who is experienced and check out the gear in action. some guys prefer recurve bows, while some just use their deer hunting bows. some use zebco style reels, while others prefer the bottle reel setup, or just a spool. i have 3 different bows, and they are all setup different. 2 compounds, 1 45 lb short draw for quick shallow shooting; 1 60 lb draw setup for deeper water shooting, using a full draw length and release; and a recurve with just a spool on it for backup. its an addicting sport, with a lot of new high quality gear hitting the market the past 5 years.