• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lower unit lube?

no bait nate

have a used Johnson 15 i picked up last fall and haven't used this year yet. It runs good but i haven't had it tuned up at all. wondering what to do about the lower unit lube myself? do i just pull the two plugs (upper and lower) and drain the old fluid out? Then how much and what type do i refill it with? any help would be appreciated. thanks

i'm not an expert but i asked the same question on this forum last fall when i wanted to change mine myself. it is actually pretty simply... there are two plugs/screws, like you had mentioned. take them out and let the old lube/oil drain out... if the oil is milky, you have water in there and might have seal issues and should get it checked out. if the oil is black and not milky colored, you are good to go.

i believe when you put the new lube in, you put it in from the bottom hole. squeeze the bottle and keep putting lube in until you see it come out the top hole, then quick put the screw back into the bottom hole to seal it off.. it works A LOT better if you have an extra hand to help you out putting that screw in. it can be a messy job but very easy and doable by anyone.

i think that is how you do it. can someone else confirm?