• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Deere model 49 blower (single stage)

Iron Cowboy

Hey All, I have a few questions for anyone that has one of these. This is my first year with it on my new to me 318 and when I went to blow the wet heavy snow it just wouldnt throw it for anything, the chute would get clogged right away or it would load up real heavy and throw the belt right away. One guy told to to spray chute with silicon which I have since done along with purchasing a new belt. Any other tips on getting it to work better? Also I cant find a shear pin and key way anywhere on this thing to replace if needed, so far every time I ran into anything it just threw the belt. I would think it would work better than this and the push blade is not an option for my long drive. Any help is appreciated.

Iron Cowboy

I have a 317 with the single stage blower, Have had the same issues since I've had it. Spray and new belt helps, I've gotten to the point I just take a 1/2 swat, I get the job done in about the same time as cleaning out the chute but alot less hassle, the thrower I have has a 1/4" x 1" Machine bolt shear pin .

Ive also got a 317 with the model 49 blower. My Father has a 316 with a model 49, so Ive spent some time with one! Ive never had one throw or break a belt. With the wet heavy snow we had I also had problems plugging up, when there is that much wet heavy snow it its a balancing act between feeding too much snow through it and none at all. I accually killed my 317 a couple times on the last storm! I also found it works better to take less than a full width pass. My dad and I take the chute off every couple years and sand it down and repaint it to keep it smooth, silicone spray helps too. There is a schear bolt on the right side of the auger.