• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Maybe a dumb question

I have been seriously looking at purchasing a new rifle, I am a pretty seasoned deer hunter but haven't looked into this, well, ever. I have been using a 243 for 18 years now, and want to get a 270 or 30-06. My biggest challenge is finding rifles that are semi-automatic. I really want one, but all I can find are bolt actions and levers... Am I missing something? My dad and uncles have semis, but it seems that in all the ads and in local shops there are never automatics. Help with this? Thanks

why do you want a semi-auto? are you one of them guys that I hear shooting 5 times in a row?

they (bolt actions) are more accurate cause all the force from the charge is pushing the bullet out of the barrel whereas a semi auto is using some energy to cycle the round.

for practical shorter distance uses it probably doesnt make a difference.

I used to own a BAR Safari ... that was purdy nice ... although, cleaning was a pain.

I believe you can still get a new BAR Safari as well as much more modern versions called the "ShortTrac" and "LongTrac" ... I would guess those are named for whether they're chambered for a short-action round, or not ... these are all Brownings, of course. Winchester also offers an "SXR" which, I'm guessing, is basically one of the modern Brownings with the Winchester name.

I believe Remington now makes what they call a "750 Woodsmaster" ... I'm also guessing they've discontinued the 7400. From what I've seen, the sights on the 750 are useless ... ya may likely need to scope it.

Benelli had an automatic rifle a few years back ... thought I saw one at Fleet Farm not long ago.