• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Dragging for Cats

SteveD

I started playing around slow dragging cut bait for channels last night and picked up one nice fat 26" channel and missed two. I'm starting to see lots of bait pods showing up on the St Croix and most everything is chasing them right now. On a flat calm night you can just watch across the water and see fish just hammering all the bait. Find the bait and you find the cats - they are most always in and around all that bait activity. Seems a little early in the season for the bait pods to show up but this warm water must have hatched them so the circle of life goes on. Time to chase bait and catch cats.

By the way - along with the bait hatch came a serious cruiser hatch - darn things are everywhere and throwing some serious wakes.

The St Croix has bottomed out at its normal summertime low of 675.3' and the water temp was a warm 83 degrees last night. There is a lot of backwater crud and grass floating in the current right now which must have busted loose after this last rain.

Thanks for the update Steve. I would say Sunday was the slowest for cruiser action on Pool 2 I have seen in awhile (pending storms and cloudy I guess). The ones we did see where looked to be coming back from a weekend on the Croix.

I'm curious as to how this differs from Drifting Steve. Is it a slower speed?

Darren -

It is basically the same thing as drifting but I use the trolling motor for good boat and speed control. A lot of times when you drift you are at the mercy of the wind or the current. Doing a slow troll gives you much better control to stay on fish.