• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Plastic Worms and Stickiness...

Ace

Hi all,

Working on a project with the kidsat school, we're trying to pour some plastic worms and grubs. We have Pitsco Plastic Worm Plastic, all the colorant, molds, etc. I did a trial run this afternoon for tomorrow's lessons and they turned out ok, but they are sticky. I think I'm cooking them long enough...The back of the bottle did mention something about an oil to put on them, curious if any of you experts out there no of such a thing or if you have your own homemade version. Thanks!!

Ace, there could be a couple things going on there, your plastic might not have been mixed enough, I use a stirrer I made for a drill, and strir fo about 5 minutes, I have no experience with that brand of plastic, but most plastics seperate and the hardner falls to the bottom and you have to stir the beejesus out of it to get it mixed thouroghly. The other thing is plastics don't fully cure for 24 hours, and need to be above 65 degree room temp to cure, so check back after 24 hours and if they are still sticky it probably wasn't mixed up properly. Good luck with the project and make sure the kids don't play around it, hot plastic is like napalm it just keeps burining and you can't get it off!