• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Powder for Hunting

Froggy4371

Ok So I want some opinions here. I have been shooting Triple 7 powder for about 5 years. I was talking with some buddys of mine and they all shoot pyrodex powder. They are both made by Hodgon and they are telling me that they are for the most part the same except pyrodex is a little bit dirter buring. What do you guys know about.

Froggy

Triple 777 is a little bit cleaner shooting. Has a little bit more of a tendency to create a harder ridge of dirtiness right at the bottom where the bullet seats than some of the other powders maybe? Not really an issue unless you try to shoot a lot of shots without swabbing the barrel out with a wet or cleaning patch followed by some dry patches.

Here is the really cool thing about Triple 777 loose powder. It is 15% more powerful than the other brands by volume. Therefore you use less powder to get the same velocity. 100 grains of loose triple 777 is actually the equivalent of 115 grains of powder.

This can become dangerous though in that if you shoot 150 grains of loose triple 777 you are actually shooting outside the safe zone of a lot of muzzleloaders. It's actually like shooting 172.5 grains of powder.

If you buy the pellets you are shooting the actual amount it says because they have changed the amount of grains to be equivalent to what it says. The 15% more powerful only applies to the loose.

Ryan

777 is much cleaner with no strong sulfur smell. Shoot the 777 primers which aren't as hot and the supposed ring (which I never even got with regular 209 primers by the way) won't be a problem.

I'd never go back to Pyrodex...