• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Honda Odyssey Sliding Door Help?

This is my first time using the Auto forum so thought I would give it a try regarding a problems I am having with my 2000 Honda Odyssey.

It has automatic sliding doors that open and close for you automatically. I can't stand them because they are slow and annoying to use. Now to make matters worse, the drive motors (I think that is what is going bad) on both doors are not working properly and have to force them open/close. They are very spendy to replace (I think the motors alone are around $600+).

So my question is does anyone know if/how to disengage/reconfigure them so that you can open/close them with out the drive motor. I prefer this anyways. I've asked the dealer and they say that you cannot. If someone can refer me to someone that can help with this it would be much appriciated.

If this is not an option, references to a cheaper way to get these fixed & someone to do the work would be great. I would assume that this is a fairly common issue as these vans get older.

Except for this problem the Van has be awesome. 150,000 miles & 7 years later, I have not had to do anything but change oil, tune ups, brakes & timing belt - all routine maintenance.

Thanks!

I think there was a procedure for resetting the doors and relearning the modules, maybe someone else can chime in on this, if no one else can find anything I will do some digging and see what I find out.

The honda sliding door beautiful when working pain in the keister when not.

You can re-home these doors by closing the doors turning the switch on the dash off then on, hold the open switch till door is completely open and add a couple of seconds then hold the closed button till the door is closed plus a couple seconds. This should re-home the doors but will not repair any problems.