• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What kind of hawk?

Hastings gal

77138.jpg

I think its either a sharp shinned or cooper juvenielle?

This is what I witnessed 2 weeks ago between downpoors. Every species of bird around was squawking and dive bombing this guy. I took 8 pictures of it.

From looking at my bird book, "Birds of Minnesota" Field Guide by Stan Tekiela, I believe it's a sharp-shinned hawk. The juvenile cooper's hawk has a almost completely brown head. But I am by no means an expert, so I hope someone else will chime in so I know if I'm right. LOL

Brian

Accipters nearly overlap in size, and females are larger than males. This makes identification very difficult, especially between immature birds. With adults, it's easy to tell when you've got a goshawk, for example, but the other two adults are too close together in too many ways to make it easy. The immatures resemble each other closely in all three species (sharp-shinned, Cooper's and goshawk). And with the size issue, I generally call the smallest individuals sharp-shinneds with the possiblity of Cooper's, and largest ones goshawks with the possibility of Cooper's. I've never been confident enough, or actually, been close enough and gotten a long enough look at, these birds to be sure of an ID closer than that. There are field marks to tell each apart, but they are subtle. I've found a couple dead adult accipiters and was able to make what I consider positive IDs because I had all the time in the world. In the field, I often just flip my pencil in the air and call it an accipiter.