• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Rosie Red Minnows

Minnetonka

I was a former fisheries Biologist in another life. One of my friends was asking me about what he referred to as "Rosie Red Minnows". From the description it sounds like regular fat-heads that have been somehow dyed red, or gold, like gold-fish. I have not seen these in bait shops but I was informed that they are a hot bait. I was asked how they get these fish colored. My best guess is a food color type dye, or a food that has a dye in it. Does anyone have any information on "Rosie Red Minnows"?

------------------
"I'd rather be fishing"

Mike Mason

They are sometimes called an albino fathead, they are a fathead, but look more like a goldfish. I have used them up here on Rainy River and LOW, mixed results, somedays they worked good and somedays not.

I'm not sure if Rosie Reds and Rubie Reds are the same thing, anyways I saw them at Holiday by Mille Lacs and then I saw a sign at a bait store in Deer river that said, "Rubie reds are not legal in Minnesota at this time." Something to look into I'll see what I can find out and then post what I find.

Good fishin'

I dont believe they are dye'd to color. I saw these at Wal Mart for the 1st time in Minnesota a couple weeks ago in the aquarium section for use as feeder fish.

I was at Frankies recently and they had * Rosie Reds * mixed in with the crappie minnows and fat heads. I have used these before in PA on several occasions with very limited success ... I would actually say they were worthless .. but I did have a good outing or two using them .. they do work on occasion, but for lack of a better term, I will never * Depend * on them.

[This message has been edited by Fisher Dave (edited 01-27-2003).]