• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Questions about March Crappies

Luck e 1

I am just getting into ice fishing later in the season now. What time of day is best to get out? What depth of water? I had luck later in the day earlier in the season, but I didn't know if things change. Is morning better than afternoon...afternoon better than evening...?

Thanks Guys, any info will help.

A few factors will determine this. All lakes vary to a degree depending on water clarity, depth, ect. Soon crappies should be staging near to shallow water, spawning areas. Last weekend the lake we were fishing the crappies were holding in 14' of water closer to the break which rises to 6' or so, I fished within 30 yards of the break and caught numerous crappies along with the bluegills. The other guys were fishing within 60 yards of me, same depth, but farther away from the break, and found only bluegills. This is telling me that on this particular lake they are obviously staging near to the break. Not every lake will be the same however. A good rule of thumb would be to find and area with a shallow flat or bay with some deeper water adjacent to it and do some searching. Be willing to move around alot till you find fish. The good thing about March is when you find them, they usually will not hesitate to eat your jig. As far as timing is concered, mornings and/or evenings are typically the better times of day, however in my own experience, this time of year you can usually find active fish all day if you stay on the move.

Hope this helps and I'm sure others will chime in with their experience as well.