• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Re-sleeving my '93 EXT 550 EFI

tashit

I have my old '93 EXT sitting in my parent's backyard with a fried cylinder. I decided I finally need to do something about this and I want to get it running. I thought I just had to hone the cylinder and slide a new sleeve in, replace the piston, rings, gaskets, crank seal, and head. I wanted to buy the parts today but thought I would do a little research before I did. I've been reading that maybe I only have to bore the cylinder or replace the sleeve? I'm a little confused now as to what exactly I need to do with the cylinder itself. I'm no master mechanic but I can usually figure things out if they're explained to me. My dad is decent with engines and my uncle will be down for Christmas and he would know what he's doing so I will have some help. I want to spend as little money as possible but I figure I may as well get this thing running. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I had this issue last winter. The slight issue is that Cat's have a nikasil (sp?) plating on the cylinder wall. It is quite expensive to go through the process of boring, re-sleeve and send in to get the nikasil coating. Quotes exceeding $275, mailing and waiting...etc..

hsolist is my favorite option. I was buying cylinders, pistons and other stuff for cheap. Just buy another cylinder in good shape for a fraction of the price. Hone it and good to go.

You are on the right track, but don't skimp on re-building the engine. Get all new top end gaskets (usually sold in sets), circlips, rings, etc... Usually the crankcase gasket is one piece, so plan on working on the other cylinder to replace the gasket....then new rings on that piston, etc..