• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

98 Dakota

Hillbiehle

Question

I have a 98 Dakota (automatic) that doesn't want to shift out of 2nd gear, but ONLY when it is cold. Eventually by letting off the gas and giving it enough time, it'll shift. After a few stop signs of this and about 10 miles or so, no more problems. Reading on the internet, it appears that this is common, but there are no answers on how to fix it. Is this just a routine maintanence issue, or are there some concerns? Why would it only do it when it is cold? Any suggestions or thoughts are appreciated.

5 answers to this question

I am not an expert, but Chrysler is famous for having not the best transmissions, this didn't stop me from buying a Dodge Ram, and now a Grand Cherokee.

I can tell you an example I had in the past with a GrandCaravan, it was doing same as your Dakota, it didn't want to shipft at all unless released gas completely, them occasionally did catch, but with just a hair of throttle.

I drained transmission fluid, changed filter, cleaned up inside very well (from what you can reach from bottom of car), filled up and car ran fine for 1 more year, no more slippage.

I believe transmission is not doing good, so you might have to put a rebuild in your budget, but trying my way will cost you only $ 30.00 or $ 40.00 and 1/2 day of labor.

If it sill will not work, then you will have to ask the experts.