• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Questions about getting a dog

PaulB

I'm brand new at owning a dog, and I've got some questions. First, I've seen several references to having eyes and hips certified. Why is this important, are some breeds more susceptible to problems than others, are the problems genetically transmitted? Also, pondering a breed, I like labs, but worry a little that one might be too big for my smaller house. Had a springer growning up, but he seemed pretty family oriented, not too comfortable around strangers (and hated UPS trucks - barked at everyone that drove down the highway). Anyone happen to own each of these and care to give personal pros and cons for each? Planning on doing some hunting with the dog as well as him/her being a pet. Family only me and 12 year old son. Thanks for taking the time to read thru all this.

Labs come in many sizes bud. I'm a diehard lab guy so I'll admit my bias, but they are just great dogs, and like I said, a good breeder will be able to predict approximate sizes if you are looking for a small one. Mine older one is a short 65 lber. I think the five month old will be more like 80 to 90.

Eyes and hips are genetic and most of the larger breeds are in some danger of hip problems. I don't know the specifics or the science, but its worth it if you don't want to have problems to know they have good genetics. Eyes I think are an any size dog issue as far as I know...

We all have our bias when it comes to the breed of dog to own, so you will get lots of good advise on all breeds!