• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

wilderness management

wildfan

Hi i really dont know if this is the right place to post this, but i was wondering if any one majored in wilderness management in college because that is what i am doing and i was wondering if you did, where are you working now.

Hey wildfan,

I graduated from U of Mt in 1994 with a talk in forestry with an emphasis in wildland management. I spent several years working out west with the USFS, NPS, BLM, USGS and one private outfitter. The work was awesome, the pay sucked, but we often joked that we got paid in sunsets:D. Seasonal work, which can extend as much as 10-12 months a year is available for those who work at lining it up, but permanent work is very difficult to find (there are many decidated folks 'putting their time in' as we speak).

I moved back to MN (Twin Cities) several years ago to be close to my family and to try to find gainful employment. I work for a county park system north of the cities...I don't work in-the-field, I work in an office - public relations...ugh. For me it was a trade-off. Now I seek out my 'wildland' experiences and I can finally afford some of the cool gear to help the experience!