• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

camera body or lense?

I'm a very amateur photographer. Once in a while I can get an OK picture. I have always had problems with taking action shots indoors. (Kids are in karate, basketball, ect) I know part of the problem is my inexperience, but I'm looking to upgrade equipment. I have a 30d camera and my lenses are a 70-300IS and 17-85is. To have a better chance at good pics, would it be better to upgrade the camera body to a 70d or a lens like a 70-200 f/2.8L? Or am I looking in the wrong direction? Thanks for any advice!

First of all you are facing one of the more challenging aspects of photography, indoor sports! There are a lot of variables involved but I can give you general advice based on my experiences. Let me start off by telling you I spent a number of years shooting with a 20D/30D and made good money with those cameras. The lenses you have are just not going to cut indoor shooting. They are not fast enough both from a light standpoint and a focusing standpoint.

I don't know how much you are prepared to spend for some photos but my suggestion would be to start out a bit slower. One mistake I often see are folks that have equipment they don't know how to use to their potential. The camera body you have will get you through the upcoming season and allow you to develop your skill set and get a much better idea of what you will need for next season. That will also get you through a couple of new model releases. That becomes important for my next piece of advice, buy used! As the new cameras come out their will always be folks who want the newest equipment. That will put a number of couple year old cameras on the market which will be a large step up from your current equipment.