• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

What kind of Camera do you use?

MootScoot

Hi all! I've been using this HSOforum for a couple of years, fly on the wall, just checking out fishing reports. Last week I came across this bird watching section and was pleasantly suprised to see a forum dedicated to one of my new found passions. About two years ago I set up a feeder for what I assumed would be a way to see the usual Cardinals/Blue Jays/Robins up close, the few birds that I knew about. A week goes by and a rose breasted grosbeak happened upon my feeder. After going through the task (joy) of figuring out what kind of bird that was, I was hooked. I ran out and got a bird book, more seed, feeders, etc. Fast forward two years and I stumble across this forum and all of the beautiful pictures submitted. I now have the desire to capture the birds on film in conjunction with logging them in the bird book. Here in lies the question; What kind of camera do you reccommend for a novice photographer and bird watcher? As with most, price is usually a driving factor. I look forward to your input with hopes of posting some of my own photos in the near future.

Take care!

I can't afford the real nice stuff so I use a Canon Powereshot SX30IS. It has a 35 zoom on it that I love for birds. Won't work if you are looking for the proffesional chrystal clear look but with tips from guys on here it does a good job.

As with most hobbies the big question is "How much do you want to spend ?"