• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Lens for fishing shots

Hi everyone,

Just curious if you have a favorite lens for shooting fishing pics in a boat? I'm mostly thinking about portrait shots where the angler is holding up the fish. I have a Nikon D-200 & have been using a Tamron 17-50mm which has worked great so far. Are there better options & what are the advantages? I'm new to digital photographer but I'm learning a lot from this forum.

Thanks, Vern

Hey Vern, I think you've already got a great lens for fishing pictures.

There is a common photographic technique that makes fish look much bigger, and it required a wider angle lens. You zoom out as wide as you can go with an ultrawide zoom, the angler holds the fish far from his/her body, and the photographer gets really close to the fish to take the picture. Because of the distortion in such lenses, the fish is rendered bigger than life.

For your camera, the most affordable option I know of is the Sigma 10-20mm, which retails for about $475. On your camera, because of its sensor size, your 17-50 acts approximately like a 26-75mm lens. The 10-22, which is specifically designed for your sensor size, will act like a 16-35, and at 16/17mm, you have true ultrawide capability.

It's a chunk of change to lay out for a fish taking lens, but once you start using an ultrawide at the wide end, a host of new photographic options open up.

I think you are right on track with your lens choice. You want something wide enough to capture the subject but not so wide you end up with distortion...well let me rephrase that. If you want the fish to look a bit bigger a wider lens could do that smile A fish eye (no pun intended) lens will give you some real distortion that will give you some cool looks, but I would not consider it for ALL of my fish shots.