• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Mooring whips or Stowaway Holdaway

ib_jigged

Anyone have any experience with either of these systems? I have a new boat and in the past have had my old boat sit at the dock at the campgorund during the weekend. I would like to eliminate the chances of dock rash to protect my new boat. I have a few fenders already and also some cushions that slip over the posts of the dock, but want to know if it is best to hold it awat from the dock.

Thanks

I have no experience with either but sure wish they were around when my boat was new. I used boat bumpers and they totally ruined my decals and I said from now on I would rather beach my boat and take my chances than leave at at a dock.

If you know the weather is going to get nasty you should go ahead and jerk your boat. The next day the fishing is going to be slow so there is no hurry to get your boat back in the water.

I usually pull the boat out when the weather is nasty, but I like the idea of not rubbing on any fenders or bouys when at the dock. I am not sure which ones to try. The Holdaways are about $100 less than the whips.

I use mooring whips with my 19ft Lund Pro V. It took me a little while to trust them but they work great. I wasn't aware that they had portable whips, mine are mounted to the dock with three bolts for each whip. Once the wind gets up above 25 MPH directly towards the boat, they aren't as effective but the boat/dock bumpers have kept disaster at bay. I'll see if I can find some pics if you're interested.