• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

new to musky fishing.

goldie11

I am new to musky fishing this year and was wondering if any one has advice. What lures to buy? where to fish? What kind of rod to use? fishing techniques? how to fish when conditions are rough? any info will help. thanks.

Having just gone through this a year ago, I recommend:

Lures: Get a few different size/styles/color of bucktails, couple spinner baits, prop style topwater, small and med sized crankbaits. This should get you started without breaking the bank, and they are very easy to use. Plano 3700 sized boxes work well to store them, or just use a 5 gallon bucket.

Where to fish: This link has info on lakes that stock muskie - Muskie lakes

Rod: 7'6"-8' Medium Heavy (MH) rod is a very versitile rod. should throw everything listed above. The longer rods make doing figure 8's a lot easier, and will cast farther with less effort. You can save a lot of money by searching FM classified.

Techniques: burning bucktails over the tops of weeds, rocks, etc is a great go to technique; speed troll crank baits/spinnerbaits, tough weedy areas - spinnerbaits won't snag up as much, thow the topwater stuff periodically just to mix things up.

Rough conditions: Mix things up/experiment

I'm not expert by any means, but these are the things what worked for me. If you can, try to hook up with someone that knows what they are doing (hire a guide if possible) - it will accelerate your learning curve. Also, make sure you have all the proper release tools (musky sized net, extra long pliers, jaw spreaders, hook cutters), also research proper muskie handling for CPR. Lots of great info on this site and others, just need to take the time to read through the various posts.