• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Training ?'s

Walleye Wegs

I am a first time trainer and have been working with my 8 month lab all summer. She is a very hyper pup that is crazy about retrieving. A couple of questions for anyone that may have some imput. I am having trouble getting her to sit by my side to throw the dummy, she will sit and face me. When we go for walks and I tell her to heel and she stays right by my side. Another issue is that I am having is I attached a pheasant wing on the dummy and when it fell off the other night she would barely touch the dummy without the wing attched. When I put it back on no problems. Has this happened to anyone else? Any help would be great.

WW

Well, I'm far from an expert but I've seen and experienced a lot of the same things you've described as I've trained my lab over the past six months. My lab would also sit in front of me instead of at my side. This is basically a heeling problem. Have your dog heel (use a short leash), walk a short distance, and stop. As you stop give the sit command. If the dog attempts to slide around to the front, pull on the leash and give her a tap on the flank with a heeling stick. She'll learn soon enough that sit means "sit right there" and not "move to the front and then sit down". The "ratchet" drill will also help get better heels from your dog. Basically rotate in short angles, using the heeling stick and a short leash, using the heel command each time you stop. Depending on which direction you are turning you will need to either pull on the leash or tap with the heeling stick. This may take a little time but soon you can simply heel the dog, sit ti down, and it will stay at your side until you send it for the retrieve.