• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Shimano question for Dietz

bassin

I have an older style curado thats the low gear ratio, I believe its 3:8:1??? I don't use it and all the rest of my reels are 201's. Can I purchase gears for the 201 and convert the lower gear model into a 201? Its the same size as the 201 but I don't remember the model number.

Not Deitz, and didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but.... \:\)

I know for a fact that you can purchase 3.8:1 and 5:1 gears for a older green Curado and swap them out. So assumably you can get the 6.3:1 gears to swap into the 3.8:1 as well.

I "think" this is what you were asking, but your question is a little unclear. You can't convert a 200 to a 201 if that is what you were asking. \:\)

I am an auto mechanic by trade so It may just seem simple to me

but they can be a little intimidating at first but after a couple times there gravy

Ive seen the inside of so many curados I could put one together if you brought it to me in Pieces

fortunately you would probally need a pinion gear,and drive gear Im guessing that the level wind speed is different so the worm gear and all would likley need to be changed. likley the drag washers also,

looking at the schematic the only diffrence in part numbers are of the parts indicated above

But as Deitz said I would contact shimano and make sure its evan possible before considering it. but as far as I can tell you should be able to

you would already have about $35 in parts + shipping.

Ask your self are you better investing $35 in a new one.