• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Annual Stock Up Trip

CrappiesNCats

I copied this thread from southern MN forum. just to get more response.

Tomorrow is my annual trip to hit Cabelas and restock. i had to wait to get my "buy so much get some free" coupon. Its all on gift cards from birthday/christmas.

anyways, anything new out there i should be looking for panfish-wise? i'm no expert but i do very well pitching 2 inch mister twisters and 1/16th ounce jigheads, but i'm looking to try other methods to try and increase my overall knowledge. i have a large selection of twister tails but ignore most others. the lake i fish up north is full of panfish but also of northerns so i have been skeptical of small cranks. (between bluegills ripping off the twister tails and northerns busting me off i went through over 50 bucks worth of jigs in a week).

so i guess i'm asking what methods do you prefer that i may have fun with...tubes? slip bobbers with flu-flus? small spinnerbaits?

also if anyone knows where they sell different color twister tails or other crappie baits that the huge box stores don't sell let me know(i am around mankato, mn). definitely willing and ready to check out some local bait shops. last year on an ugly green metallic head and a bright pink with flake twister i landed a 6.5# walleye on my st croix ultra-light and 4lb test in the weeds and landed an 8#northern on the same set-up the next day. all while trying to catch crappies, darnit \:\)

tubes are fun. work very well for me sight fishing in the shallows in the spring. Either when the bull gills are on the beds or in a clear lake. Green, green and black, white and red seem to work the best for me.

check out barlows tackle online for some unique panfish style baits. Locally, for you I don't know of anything.