• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Clear Water Gills

FishinChad

I am heading out today in search of some bigger gills, I will be trying a crystal clear lake and am wondering what advise you have for this situation. I have very little experience on real clear lakes.

I am looking at a nice sized weedy area, but am worried it may be too shallow with the clear water. Another option is just on the edge or outside the weedline...and if I cant find fish relating to the weeds, I am looking at a "saddle" area between 2 deep holes, the sattle comes up to about 20fow, deeper on both sides.

Now which would you target first on a crystal clear lake remembering I am looking for the bigger fish.

I will post results when I return, hopefully I can find some but I have never fished this lake with success on the ice. Thanks for any help!

Yes it is clear enough, I would be able to see easily if I was in a portable at least but difficult when sitting out on the ice in daylight. I tried some deeper water just off the weed edge and marked a few fish but no takers. I didnt fish long, couldnt talk anyone into going with me. I will hit it again soon.

We fish those conditions all the time, last few weeks we have been in less than 6' catching gills, perch, northerns, bass and crappies. I don't care much to fish waters I cant see bottom in anymore. Sight fishings great.

When you guys sight fish, do you have your face right above the hole? I have found at times that if I was looking down from straight above the hole, the fished seem to spook or be hestitant to take the bait. Maybe I am moving around too much or I am making something out of nothing. Any tips or comments?