• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Stupid question for hawgTime, and others if they would like to jump in!

Deitz Dittrich

Yesturday on calhoun, we were checking them deep water holes and had the one area where we were getting a false bottom. To be honest I have been using a vex for about 15-20 years now and have never had that happen? What heppend there?

For those who wernt there, I was checking a hole and had my vex on 2 and read the bottom at 24 feet. I even had eyeballs check with his unit because we thought it was much deeper there. and his unit read the same thing... We later checked it again, with hawgTimes unit and he got it at what we figured it to be at 52 feet...

What was up with that?

That's interesting.
Are you sure you did have it set to same depth selector as first time ? 24' doubled it's close to 50' feet if you choose different depth selections.

On the other side, I didn't know Vex were 15 to 20 years old.

[This message has been edited by Valv (edited 01-13-2003).]

Valv- I know for a fact that I had the unit on 2... and so was eyeballs when he checked... we both got a reading of 24 feet...

and The unit I had was a Sitex.. sitex sold to micronar, micronar sold to hondex, hondex sold to Vexlar.. so in a very off way I had a Vexlar that long ago.. just said Sitex on it!...Still a 3 color flasher.

I had the same issue a couple weeks ago on one particular lake in 42 feet of water. I was getting a false echo like that. I thought I found a massive school of suspended crappies!

I then learned what was going on when I put the camera down the hole. The lake bottom was really strange (heavy hard mud-like) and it caused a double echo that I have never seen before, except on Lake Superior.

I have the Hondex.