• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Sturgeon Tips

I am fairly new to Sturgeon fishing, but had some success last year on the Rainy. My favorite rig is a barrel sinker in the 2-3 oz range and a 12-18" leader with a medium circle hook. Night crawlers for bait. A smaller hook seems to keep the crawlers on better. Just drop it straight down to the bottom and put the rod in the holder and set your clicker.

I have also had good luck getting fish in the boat using a Muskie Cradle.

How does everyone plan on catching their Sturgeon this year?

I prefer bank sinkers. 2-3 oz is good. I have had success with Gamakatsu and Mustad circle hooks. The Mustad's are a lighter wire, which I like, but I did have one snap in half last year, so I have a bit more confidence in the Gamakatsus.

I like a 12"-18" leader with a big barrel swivel. Leader is the same line as my main line. 20lb Big Game and 80lb Power Pro have served me well. You could go lighter on the braids, but that is just what I spool with for catfish.

I have caught them on lots of different rods. My preferred is a 7'6" MH Quantum Big Cat. The tip is fairly sensitive yet you can really put pressure on the fish to land them fairly quickly. I prefer baitcasting reels, but I have used spinning, too.

As for bait, crawlers work good, but catch anything and everything in the river. I had plenty of success last fall on dead shad, cut sucker, and cut drum.

I have only fished them on the St. Croix. Next week will change that. grin.gif

Here's an action shot of my buddy battling it out with the Quantum Big Cat I mentioned above.

dsc02342hz5.jpg

Ralph, Excellent post! I like the action shot, the Sturge is sure to put a bend in the pole! Here are a few of my action shots.

Here is me with a good bend in the Uglystick

p1010174uu9.jpg