• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Winter Camping / Backpacking

WalleyeDundee

I've finally picked up a decent winter bag this fall and plan to do some winter backpacking this year. Does anyone have any good tips or locations they would be willing to share.

I am dreaming about a trip through the BWCA on snowshoes fishing for lake trout. Yeah!!! laugh.gif

What do you want to know? I'm no expert but I do make several trips to the BWCA each winter. As far as staying warm, I suggest to wear layers, use a good set of polypropylene long underwear to start with. Stay away from cotton. Synthetics and wool are my choice for warmth in the winter. Travelling in the winter on snowshoes takes a lot more time than you would expect. Try ski poles with your snowshoeing. Pulling a sled with your gear is easier than carrying the weight on your back.

Eat a lot of food to keep you warm and drink a lot of water. It's easy to get dehydrated in the winter since the air so dry.

Hope this helps a bit.

Hey Walleye,

I just went to a winter camping clinic at REI and it was FANTASTIC!! Only problem is they don't have one scheduled for the roseville store for Dec. THey do have another one for 12-8 but its in Bloomington and that might be too much of a haul for you.

Big points are to wear lots of layers. Polyester is the best thing you could use. Polyprop is outdated now for good reasons. Polyester is better in so many ways.

FLeece and wool are your best bets for fabrics, especially if you can get fleece that is waterproof/windproof. Wool is both of these things and will last forever. Make sure you bring lots of extra clothes including a hats and mittens. The greatest thing you can have is closed cell foam. The pads for sleeping and for insulating everything else.