• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Tips for small weedy lake

jvm1

Hi,

I went and tried a small weedy lake yesterday. The lake is bowl shaped and deep. I'm in 20 feet of water casting at 3-8 FOW from 40-60 feet away.

It is also very clear.

What techniques would you recommend for a lake like this?

I'm new to bass fishing most of my stuff is topwaters and cranks, and with the weeds on top it was impossible.

Try jigs. Texas rig is nice because its weedless. If you texas rig a 5" senko and just keep twitching it off the drop off youd probably hammer them. There's tons of videos on YouTube I'm sure explaining how to do it. Or a big bait like a pit boss texas rigged.

Jigs is a great suggestion. I'd also try slow-rolling a spinner bait between and through and over weeds if you think you can do it without getting hung-up more than you can tolerate. Depending on the type and density of weed cover, a spinner bait can move right through lanes in the cover that hardly look available. Bumping into and pulling free from weeds on the retrieve enhances the presentation, and with practice, you can avoid getting hung-up more and more the better you get.

If it has a good sharp outside weed edge you could try a jig worm. Just cast it to the edge and let it drop along the weeds to the bottom. Pop it off the weeds as it falls. They usually hit as it is dropping. My favorite plastic for this is a 4in ring worm with a curly tail on a mushroom jig head. Others like 4in senkos for this.

You could also try punching the thick areas of weeds. I'm not good at this, but maybe others will chime in on it.

If you are having a tough time fishing the weedline, you can position your boat next to the weeds and fish from deep to shallow.