• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Motor cutting out?

herefish101

My outboard has been running great this year, that is until yesterday, now whenever I push it past 3/4 throttle the primer bulb starts to go flat and the engine starts to starve for fuel, if I stop and let it fill up again and then squeeze the bulb a few times it starts right up. The tank vent is open. I just don't understand what causes this and how I fix it, i'm hittin Mille Lacs next weekend and I would like to figure this out before then, thanks to anyone with any advice.

I'm no expert but you may have TWO problems, the first of which is easy to solve. You have an air leak in the fuel line or around the bulb. I have in the past just replaced the whole assembly and saved time. You may wish to check all connections at motor and tank. Check bulb carefully. That is probably all you need to do....new line and bulb, or at least bulb.

Why it is doing it when you accelerate could have several causes, but I'll bet the above changes will solve that too.

Other more knowledeable guys will chime in too.

if there were aan air leak in the line would'nt that just allow air into the bulb thus loosing it's prime? On mine the bulb is being sucked flat, like a pancake. Or would air in the system cause this. I guess i'll replace the entire hose assembley and hope that fixes it.

Any more ideas/info i'm open to all opinions. Thanks.

Same question on other sites I see.Cant delete this post??

What does this even mean? So I posted the same question on multiple forums trying to get my problem fixed before it screws up my fishing trip next weekend. Are you calling for it to be deleted? Why would you even post on this topic? Please, i'm looking to fix my problem here not argue about my post.