• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Overseeding??

dietdew

I have a pretty decent lawn which i think is made up of mostly rye and fescue. I would like to over seed with blue grass to get a darker thicker lawn. Any body done this or have tips??

I'm by no means an expert - I would google it and you can find the basics - maybe you have already done that. As far as specifics I would recommended timers...if you are talking the whole yard in one fell swoop you are going to need some method of keeping it all wet. I experimented with a area of my lawn that one sprinkler could reach and had a timer setup that worked pretty sweet - Vigoro that you attach to your spigot and can water multiple times a day (9v battery). I also got an owl figure to keep the birds away - and I must say that worked good.

I think the key thing is the KGB (kentucky blue grass) has a long germination time...about 30 days (keeping it wet too). So you gotta be patient with it. The overseeding seed I used was a mix that included kgb, and it did eventually come in, but I was beginning to think it wouldn't. I also wouldn't expect to see a huge change right away. I think you need to do it year after year to see a change.

Part of the problem is that your kgb seed is going to compete with the existing grass. Therefore you will need to rake the bleep out of the grass to expose soil for the new seed to make contact with. You could use a dethatcher set low that would actually get into the soil a bit to rough it up. I noticed the area I overseeded which included near the street - this was the barest soil, but also the loosest and had the least competition from existing grass - this is where I saw the best growth. Where I thought I had raked enough in other areas didn't really take.