• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

? ? ?

Alright im a newbie at this But im doing alot of studying online and have learned alot so far. Actually did my first wraps tonight on 2 older AllStars that I broke guides on along time ago. And they turned out pretty darn good looking, with the exception of the epoxy i put on ( question #1). Ive got a lot of questions so if i need to ask them seperatly, let me know OK?

1st question - I havent made an order from anyone for supplies yet, so I went to menards and bought some 60 min 2 part epoxy and put it on. It looks nuthin like what I see on finished rods, Not smooth and doesnt flow good at all. So what is the differences between Flex coat and this stuff i bought? I think this would only be good for glueing on my seats and cork am I right about that.

2nd - Wrap material - I used untreated Nylon as this is what I have gathered by reading is to be used. Why must it be nylon? I see all types of stuff put on custom rods to make them different (snake Skins etc tec.) all that I have seen I believe are covered in epoxy as well. It doesnt make sense to me.

3rd - Blanks- Im a Bass guy mostly. My perfect rod is a 6'6" - 7'0" MH, fast tip.I will use these rods 80% of my time fishing. With the exception of crank baits. I will be using Batsons 844 blanks on my first 2 rods. I like the feel they have but I wish they were just a little bit lighter. Do I have to jump up XXX dollars to get lighter? What im trying to get too is the feel of a carrot stick. These are by far the lightest rods i have ever put my hands on. Is there anything out there close without breaking the bank.

Last one - Seats, as I said im trying to keep weight down. Has anyone tried the minima unltra lights by PACBAY? Is it worth it or is a standard fugi exposed blank better?