• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

electronic dog collar

alg

I have a 16 week old golden retriever I'm training myself. I'm having some trouble getting her to come, and having her lost in the woods doesn't appeal to me. Do these electronic collars work, and are they difficult to train with? At what age should they be used? My dog is young, so am I not giving her enough time, and expecting too much at this age?

You have to condition her properly to a collar slowly. Don't ever use it for punishment, only for reinforcement of commands she already knows. I'd say 16 weeks is a little young, but I'm no expert. I don't know what you mean by lost in the woods, but if you are hunting with her at that age I don't think that's in the dog's best interest. It should be all fun and little bits of work here and there at that age.

No, I'm not hunting with her yet. Just walks in the woods, etc. The last time out she took off and would not come back. It ends up she was just sitting a few yards from me, watching me. I couldn't see her, but had me worried. She's mostly on a leash. I've worked with her on sit, come, etc., but sometimes she comes only when she wants to.

When I started training my brit. I had the same problem, what I did is had a 20 foot tagline and worked with her in the field for the first year. It wasnt fun as you could imagine the stuff they can get tangled in. but she learned the distance to be away from you. After awhile she began looking back before the rope got tight, the idea is getting the dog to watch for you while hunting, not for you to watch the dog. Believe me it worked great. After she had that down then I put the collar on and would give her a light tick the moment she got out of that 20-25 foot mark. Havent had a problem in the last 3 years. Hope this helps you out.