• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Zercom LCF-40

Question

I looked at one of these at a local baitstore yesterday, and the price for the whole set up,that is the flasher,transducer,battery,and the base/holder is $239.99. Is this a decent sale price for this LCF? I have no experience with this flasher, so can you LCF-40 owners give me the pro's/con's of owning one.I have already read a few comments after doing a search here at FM.Folks at other forums say the LCF-40 is a good unit to have. Am I better off buying an FL-18 for a few more bucks? The money difference is not the issue,but I am looking for the real truth as to how this flasher actually runs,before plunking down the cash. Note: I am not intending to start the Vexilar vs. Zercom arguement again, because I already have an FL-8. I am looking to add another flasher to use when fishing with more people than just myself.

[This message has been edited by Marmooskaman (edited 12-16-2001).]

7 answers to this question

The only problem you might have with the Zercom is from interference off the FL-8. The Zercoms dont have and type of interference reduction, and both run at the same frequency.
Other than that it is a good unit.

Rob

Thanks,Rob. I did not realize the LCF-40 is a 200 khz unit. That really helps me in my decision.

[This message has been edited by Marmooskaman (edited 12-16-2001).]

I use a zercom and my buddies use the vex's they do the same thing but, they have a hard time reading the screen when the sun shines. I think the Vex company sells a shade or a can work good. For the price the Zercom is great plus I think the zerc is more accurate