• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Need help from the FM mechanics

Alright, well I'm a mechanic by necessity, not profession or training, so I'm seeking the opinions of the real mechanics for this one. grin.gif

Long story short, this weekend I did the following repairs on my 97 Grand Prix with the 3800 non-supercharged engine.

* Replace lower intake manifold gasket - Was leaking coolant into oil.

* Replace the "heater bypass elbow" (black plastic elbow that goes from the LIM to the idle tensioner on to the heater core) - Was cracked and causing an external leak.

* Replace the temperature sensor, because I broke the old one taking the intake manifold out.

* Replace PCV.

* Change the oil.

I replaced both the upper and lower manifold gaskets about 3 years ago because it was leaking coolant into the oil then. This time I believe it was because of the leak from that elbow that caused the coolant level to get too low, the engine to get to hot, which melted the stupid plastic gasket.

After I finished the repairs, the external coolant leak is fixed and so far no water in the oil, but 2 things that are "weird".

1) The first thing I noticed was a high idle speed. It was idling about 300 rpms high stopped in park, driving down the road and letting it coast it was as high as 1500 rpm (barely have to touch gas at 40mph) and driving at 40mph and put into neutral went up to 2200rpm.

Strange thing about this is after driving it about 25 miles, it seems to have fixed itself. On the way home from work today and I just took the boy to scouts, it wasn't idling high at all. I'm not sure why it did this at the beginning and it's not now, but as long as it doesn't start idling high again, I'll consider this "fixed".