• GUESTS

If you want access to members only forums on HSO, you will gain access only when you Sign-in or Sign-Up .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member. ?

Training questions

Labfan1

I am a newbie to this forum and to this site in general. I thank you for your responce.

I have a 5 1/2 month old yellow lab who is progressing ok in his training I understand that he is a puppy yet but I would like to know how to keep him interested for the entire training session that i give him everyday? He gets distracted very easy and decides he is done with training. How do I break him of that? I recently buried my chocolate lab who was 2 years old due to a tragect accident. He was very focused from the time I first brought him home.He was Easy to train and Loved to hunt. Now with the new Pup its "i will stop when I feel like it". Any thoughts?? Thank you

Most 5 1/2 month old dogs have very short attention spans. Keep your training sessions short (15 minutes or less) and positive. If you have the time maybe train basic obedience in morning for 10 minutes and in the evening throw in some fun retrieves. Read lots of training books, the 10 Minute Retriver is a pertty good book. Tons of good info on the internet too. Just take your time and have fun with it.

Ditto on what RiverRunner said! A couple books i enjoyed were Labrador Shooting Dog By Mike Gould, Retriever Training A back to basics approach By Robert Milner. And be patient and build the foundation carefully. Good luck and have Fun!

I've had a couple dogs that were like that. Best advice is already given, keep the training sessions short, maybe even 5 minutes. End on a good note with a tennis ball or dummy thrown just for fun. It helps build them up and coming back for more.

Pay attention to the dog. They will tell you when they are done training. The tail drops, their demeanor changes, etc.